Home | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
LCA Young Scientist Award
Share |

The SETAC Europe Young Scientist LCA Award recognizes exceptional achievements by a young scientist in the field of life cycle assessment, for example, an extraordinary Ph.D. thesis that provides a significant contribution to LCA development and implementation. This award is dedicated for one individual researcher or a group

The award is sponsored by Lenzing AG and Springer Verlag. 

Eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must show a demonstrable outstanding contribution to the field
  • Nominee should be younger than 35 years (@day of application submission)
  • Self nominations or nominations by others are welcome
  • Applications must be submitted before 31 January 2018 by email to rebecca.bundschuh@setac.org– no applications by post or fax will be accepted

Required documents:

  • A letter outlining the eligibility of the nominee for the award
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • A supporting letter explaining why the candidate should be considered for the award

The curriculum vitae and letter should be a maximum of six pages. Sufficient information should be provided to facilitate an objective evaluation of the nominees, hence evidence of the attributes of the nominee and the conduct of activities embracing the elements of the award shown above must be provided. 

Document instructions:

  • Send all files as a single zip file of separate Word documents or as a single .pdf file
  • The application packet must contains all of the requested materials to be considered for an award
  • The title of the documents must include the nominee’s name – last name, first name, name of material

Selection Process (in chronological order):

  1. Nominations will be evaluated independently by a sub-committee of the SETAC Europe LCA Steering Committee
  2. The full committee will discuss the outcome to determine the recipient
  3. The successful nominee will be informed of the decision by mid March 2018
  4. All other applicants will be informed afterwards

Springer Verlag sponsors:

  • A two- year subscription to the online edition of the International Journal of LCA  
  • A short presentation (about one printed page) of the award winner in the journal

Lenzing AG sponsors:

  • expenses for the SETAC registration fee, travel and accommodation during the meeting

Past winners:

  • 2017, Eléonore Loiseau, IRSTEA, France 
  • 2016, Anders BjØrn, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • 2014, Anne-Marie Boulay, CIRAIG, Canada
  • 2013, Rosalie Van Zelm, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • 2012, Miguel Brandão, ILCA / 2.-0 LCA Consultants, Spain/Denmark
  • 2011, Stephan Pfister, Institute of Environmental Engineering, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • 2010, Jesper Hedal Kloverpris, Novozymes A/S, Denmark